Latest News and Reviews:

Jazz Forum Arts

Chico Freeman Quartet is making their debut at Jazz Forum in Tarrytown, NY April 5 and 6

The Chico Freeman Quartet is making their debut at Jazz Forum in Tarrytown, NY April 5 and 6 with 2 shows each night! Chico has a new group made up of great musicians: Zaccai Curtis - piano, Essiet Okon Essiet - bass, Jason Brown - drums for this special engagement. . We've heard the intimate Jazz Forum sells out quickly, so make your reservations now! 914 631-1000 or go to
Read More

Celebrating Swiss exotic percussionist Reto Weber’s Jubilee as part of Jazz in the Church

November 18, 2018 17:00 Chico Freeman’s Trio Exotica Chico Freeman, saxophones Svante Henryson, cello Reto Weber, exotic percussion November 25, 2018 17:00 Chico Freeman’s Trio Exotica w/ Squeezeband Chico Freeman, saxophones Reto Weber, exotic percussion Nino G, beatbox Christy Doran, guitar Heiri Kanzig, bass Rodrigo Rodriguez, percussion Jazz In Church - Stadtkirche, Biel Biel, Bern 2502 Switzerland
Read More

George and Chico Freeman

JazzCity2018: Celebrating Von Freeman’s 95th: Family Ties

October 12, 2018 7:00PM Sherman Park 1301 W 52nd St Chicago, IL Von Freeman’s son, world-renowned saxophonist Chico Freeman and guitarist brother George Freeman illustrate how the family’s musical voice and traditions are directly connected and carried forward into the future. With reedsman Ari Brown, drummer Ernie Adams and bassist Harrison Bankhead.
Read More

First European tour for Chico Freeman Plus+tet announced

July 5: Gent Jazz Festival - Main Stage - 20:30 I'm pleased to bring my American group with Anthony Wonsey on piano, Kenny Davis on bass, Rudy Royston on drums and from the UK, we have the great Anthony Kerr on vibes performing on July 5 on the Main Stage at the Gent Jazz Festival in Belgium at 20:30. July 14: North Sea Jazz Festival - Madeira - 22:30 It is has been a while since I last played the North Sea Jazz Festival, so…
Read More

California Here I Come!

I'm delighted to return to Healdsburg as guest with the Festival All-Stars with Bobby Watson, Azar Lawrence, David Weiss, Billy Hart, Babatunde Lea with the George Cables Trio (first set) at the Healdsburg Jazz Fest, Saturday, June 9, 7 p.m, at Raven Performing Arts Theater, 115 North Street, Healdsburg, CA Then, Sunday June 10 is going to be really special at Bach Dynamite and Dancing Society. It's been a long time since I've played at this wonderful venue on Half Moon Bay and it's also…
Read More

Click here to read all the news

Featured Videos:

See All Videos